shotgun barrel length

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• shotgun barrel length

how much difference does it really make in terms of shot velocity and pattern

i read on the internet there should be no difference between a 22 inch and a 28 and all barrel length effects is the swing

does this mean a coach gun is just as effective in range with the same chokes as a longer shotguns?

From my research on the net it doesn't seem to have much affect velocity wise re the barrel lengths you mentioned and from what I've read the patterns are more controlled by the chokes, my understanding is the barrel length affects the handling characteristics more than anything.

(by the way I'm only new to the U/O shotgun scene so still learning myself) but as far as I can tell the info above is correct.

P.S. I should clarify that I'm taking about the difference between a 28" and 30" barrel . In your case going from a 22" to 28 or 30" barrel length there would have to be a noticeable loss of velocity between the 22 -28" version one would think.
    Whacking Varmints is my passion!

Comment

Guest commented
      Editing a comment
      Originally posted by Varminator" post=6044
      From my research on the net it doesn't seem to have much affect velocity wise re the barrel lengths you mentioned and from what I've read the patterns are more controlled by the chokes, my understanding is the barrel length affects the handling characteristics more than anything.

(by the way I'm only new to the U/O shotgun scene so still learning myself) but as far as I can tell the info above is correct.
      it certainly reads that way online but ive never been able to test it so i dont wanna buy a short barrel shotgun and its only good up close

im trying to pick between a 22 inch or 28 inch chiappa 1887 lever shotty

any advice from people would be appreciated