Initial cleaning of a new shotgun

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Initial cleaning of a new shotgun

While I know a bit about rifles, I'm very new to shotguns. An ATA 686 has just landed in the safe and I've realised I don't really know what the best approach to the initial clean down is.

If it was a rifle I'd pull it to bits, clean everything and apply different lubes to different places. I assume it is much the same with a shotgun, but I don't know what lubes to put where, and is it necessary to get into the action (is that the right term?) to clean and lube on a new gun?

So the questions google isn't really helping with are:

Do I need to clean inside the action on a new gun? What lube do people put in here? Any parts to focus on or avoid?
    What general purpose rust preventative is used over the outside of the gun? I usually use lanox.
    What type of lube is used on choke threads? I have a whole shelf of stuff I could use, or do I need something special?
    What type of lube is preferred on metal on metal moving parts? Which ones need a specific lubing?
    I don't have a shotgun cleaning kit yet, I was just going to do the barrels with a home made pull through for this first clean.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Id clean it with something other than degreaser type stuff, a good spray with lanox will shift the grime but not the protective coating.

Comment

I just wipe mine down with Lanox or G96. For the threads on the chokes I use Grease (gun or fishing - any grease really) no need to go over board on it, just a light smear is all that's needed on the threads. I also grease the hinge pins (not sure if that's the correct wording) and any other mating type surfaces where metal is on metal.

I just clean the bore with the G96 or similar, the chokes are harder to clean and will need some sort of wire brush to clean the plastic out of them with some sort of solvent.
      Whacking Varmints is my passion!

Comment