Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sporting Clays Chokes

Hi Guys

What chokes should i be using for sporting clays?? I have an Akkar Churchill that came with 5 chokes (Cylinder, Skeet, Improved Cylinder, Modified, Improved Modified & Full) I am currently using what it was shipped with IC on the bottom & M up top

I am a newbie to sporting clays and am not sure if i should be using a more open chokes? Also what barrel should be shot first tighter choke or more open choke.

Cheers

it sort of depends on how quick you can shoot them.
    the longer you take to be on target (or in front of) the tighter the choke required,........on average.
    I've done pretty good in the past with my skeet gun, but that's a 'quick' gun.
    if you're not sure, a good starting point would be skeet (open) in your first barrel, then 1/4 or 1/2 in your second barrel.
    same applies for tower.

edit: inbound clays = open choke
    outbound clays = 1/4 choke perhaps.

Comment

• Shotgunner
      Shotgunner commented
      Editing a comment
      Originally posted by Send-it" post=29497
      it sort of depends on how quick you can shoot them.
      the longer you take to be on target (or in front of) the tighter the choke required,........on average.
      I've done pretty good in the past with my skeet gun, but that's a 'quick' gun.
      if you're not sure, a good starting point would be skeet (open) in your first barrel, then 1/4 or 1/2 in your second barrel.
      same applies for tower.

edit: inbound clays = open choke
      outbound clays = 1/4 choke perhaps.
      Are you talking about a skeet course? Skeet course are a lot smaller than the sporting clays course I shoot, some of the targets are fired from towers 30 or 40 feet up and some must fly by 30 metres out. I think those chokes would be too loose for that.