Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Extractors vs Ejectors

Hi Everyone,
    By now you may have realised that I am new to shotguns and hence the reason for the simple questions.

This question relates to extractors vs ejectors. My logic (or lack there of it) suggests that in normal hunting situation extractors would suit on the grounds that you dont fire too many shots and and allows you to easily clean up after yourself rather than dropping empty shells all over the ground (of course you can pick them up). I also assume ejectors are very useful when clay shooting due to ease with re-loading and the extra shots.

What do people prefer and are my assumptions correct? Look forward to your replies

Cheers
    VB1971

I have found that extractors work well on a SxS shottie since the spent shells can easily be flicked out together using two fingers; it's a little bit more cumbersome on U/Os due to the barrels being stacked one on top of the other however with a bit of practice I'm sure you could remove the spent shells just as fast.

The reason why I chose extractors on my new U/O (apart from the price that is; it was over $100 cheaper than the ejector model) is because the range where I'll be mostly using the gun to bust clays at has a safety rule which states that when using a shotgun with ejectors you are to open the gun with your hand over the chambers (so that the ejected shells hit your cupped hand & fingers and then stay there) and then the spent shells are to be removed manually with your fingers. Apparently, this rule was brought in due to people hitting themselves in the face with ejected shells and chipping teeth or the spent shells sailing over their shoulder and hitting the person standing behind them on the line in the face (and of course then everyone running around like little girls trying to sue the range for damages, FFS ) so given this situation I couldn't see any advantages in having ejectors over extractors.