My First go at Competition Shooting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My First go at Competition Shooting

Well today I decided it was time to see just how good/bad I am at this DTL shooting, I'm only new to the whole concept (shot 2 practice days) and the club president said there is a competition on this Sunday why don't you have a go, I thought about it and though bugger it I will see what happens, probably won't do any good but what the hell it would be nice to see if I am any good at it compared to others - so I rolled up this morning and signed up, payed the nomination fee and we were away within an hour.

The nerves were playing merry hell with me but I figured its time to sink or swim so to speak, my turn comes and a call pull, bang clay turns to dust, I though you beauty my little trick with the stick on bit of foam rubber appears to be making a difference (had a few hits and misses during practice which we though might be the comb not being quite right (tested it on a pattern board and it was shooting low) something you don't want for clays apparently, anyway I bought a strip of it 24mm wide by 6mm thick, stuck that on this morning and the rest is history, I shot really well considering the nerves and the wind gusts of 60km/h and this is the 3rd time I've shot this gun!

I managed to come 3rd (C Grade) with a 83/100, 2nd was 84/100 and 1st was 89/100 so I did well for a first time out and considering this was probably the 7th time I'd shot clays ever. Even managed to out shoot a few A and B Grade fella's!

Now all I have to do is get an Adjustable Comb put in and hopefully I will improve on that effort.

Cheers
    Whacking Varmints is my passion!

well done first up!
    What was the foam you used to raise the comb? How was it stuck on?

cheers
    Phil

Comment

• Varminator
      Varminator commented
      Editing a comment
      Originally posted by kara27" post=25159
      well done first up!

cheers
      Phil
      Cheers Phil,