Glock Girl

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Glock Girl

We found ourselves at the Desert Hills Shooting Club just outside of Vegas on our recent US trip
    My son and I regularly shoot sporting clays so the agenda for the day was to have a go at their sporting range.

This is one of the few places that caters for machine guns and has the space to fire a .50 calibre Browning.
    My daughter isn't much into shooting but has had a bit of a go with the shotgun a few times.
    We gave her some easy ones and she was doing OK.

When we had finished shooting clays she asked if we could try the pistols.
    I was kinda surprised that she wanted to fire one.
    I'm not a handgunner and will readily admit to being a complete noob in this niche of firearms.

After a quick chat with one of the range staff, he suggested that a 9mm wouldn't be too hard for a beginner to try.
    We picked a Glock 19 out of the cabinet and headed off for some instruction.

Not too bad for a first go.
    One in the x ring, a couple of 9s and 8 & 7

Certainly a bit easier trying out a handgun over there.
    Now it's got me wondering if she wants to pursue it any further now that we're home.

good stuff

my wife and I are heading back over again next year for our 10th wedding anniversary. Will definitely put this range on our to do list.

Comment

Guest commented
      Editing a comment
      Originally posted by Guff" post=19923
      good stuff

my wife and I are heading back over again next year for our 10th wedding anniversary. Will definitely put this range on our to do list.
      It's probably a bit cheaper than gun shops in Vegas.
      We hired a car for the day and drove out - it's about half an hour out of town, near Boulder City.
      The clubhouse is pleasant enough if you need to leave the missus in comfort.
      Then take yourself off to the Southwest Diner in Boulder City for a meal- cheap quirky and home cooked - delicious.