Tips on sighting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips on sighting

Hi all looking for some tips on how to properly sight a handgun .(Glock 17) I am new to the world of handguns

I went to the range today to look at a handgun to buy to make sure all was good had ago at shooting it at steel plates at around 15mtrs 10 shots 1 hit

No 1 son has 10 shots 8 hits :S

The first time I shot was about 8 weeks ago tried 3 different handguns 1 Glock 2. CZ Shadow 3. Beretta 92 out of 30 rnds hit 24.

The next time on the plates was 3 weeks ago 20 rnds 3 hits

I dont know what I have done since the first time I had a shot but any advice on how to fix this would be appreciated
    Calling me sir is like putting an elevator in an outhouse. It don't belong

I used to hold a glock down about chest height with the armhalf stretched out , it gave me a good overview of the direction it was pointing and got good results on man size targets, surprisingly accurate.

Comment

Steel is pretty humbling, I would start off on paper at say 5 or 7 yards.

A new pistol should be accurate out of the box though the elevation can be out depending on loads and your sight picture.

There is a bit more to it than some people think e.g. grip,stance etc. and opions do vary as to what is best so take it all in and experiment to find what works for you.

Youtube has some good (and bad videos), have a look for some videos or articles by known champions or instructors in your chosen discipline.

Have a look at this article by Massad Ayoob for a good run down:

http://www.backwoodshome.com/articles2/ayoob85.html

Comment

A reasonable shooter with limited experience shooting a Glock, would have trouble knocking 6/6 plates @ 15m.

Glock's are difficult to master, especially a newer shooter, who is learning the basics.

I'd suggest you probably shot better with CZ in SA? It's all trigger control.