tailoring a specific neck/chamber clearance in a factory rifle?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tailoring a specific neck/chamber clearance in a factory rifle?

HI Gents,

Now that I'm dipping my toe into neck turning I can tailor my chamber/ neck clearance to a certain degree. I was just wondering if there is any point in tailoring a neck diameter for a factory rifle?

My current neck/chamber clearance is about 0.004 (4 thou) at the moment and I've read that a lot of the benchrest guys use 0.001 to 0.003 depending on the range that they shoot at. I was just wondering if there Is any point in trying to tighten those dimensions up or is it just a waste of time in a factory barrel?

I could probably get it down to 0.002 (but the chamber pressure seems to rise a bit with a thicker neck)

I have zero experience on the topic so please forgive me.
    How do you increase neck thickness but cutting material away?

JH

Comment

Guest commented
      Editing a comment
      My bad - I probably wasnt very clear

currently the cutter contacts 100% of the case neck when turning - if I backed the cutter out so it trimmed only 80% of the neck, the overall neck diameter would increase

So, it;s a Factory Rifle with no doubt a Factory Chamber. You have 0.008" neck clearance at present. How did you determinr this measurement...???

Lets say the easiest way since you will not have a Reamer Print or Chamber Cast to go from. You measured a "Fired Case" from your chamber then measured a "Loaded Round".... gives 0.008" difference. Well, that's a tad out if it's the way you went about it. Most case necks expand to the chamber size on firing but then the brass in the neck springs back as does the whole case otherwise you would have a stuck case in the chamber. The amount of "Spring Back" can vary on the brass type and load you fired but say in general this can be 0.001" to 0.002" or more so you actually have a chamber neck clearance of 0.010" roughly not 0.008".