Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 308 cartridge and free air space.

Hope it makes sense .
    I am new to reloading in actually doing much though I understand the principles and do some for 308.
    I realize some cases are different capacity to others.
    Also understand the priciple of seating close to the lands ans so forth.
    I have basic equipment and also have comparitor and good steel verniers and a reliable accurate set of scales.

What I do need to know is how much free space effects the loads and is there a percentage to weight ratio.
    I load a variety of once used full lenght sized brass and load it close to the lands.
    The confusion is in some cases in 308 its nigh on impossible to get more than 44 grains of 2208 with out the powder coming up the neck of the case.
    PPU and Magtech are like that and seem solid enough brass other wise.
    Some other brass I can or could easy enough go all out and get 46 grns in but mates I know prefer around 45.5 or 45.7 and the only difference is that free air space in the different cases.
    No loads are compressed and 308 does not seem to give a dam about the jump.
    Wheres the medium point here ? at the shoulder neck junction or below some where in the angled section of the shoulder ?.
    I am trying to duplicate Hornady`s SST as they just shoot like crazy compared to others.
    The Nosler 150 Ballistic tips might just be a tad softer but the explode on any sized animal from 50 meters to several hundred the just blow up ex Bang flops.
    Mainly shoot goats from rabbit sized to full size the results the same with Noslers -- big holes and dead goats.
    In an Omark s) I know I can go 46 grns but I don`t want to if I can do as well by using seating depth and a bit less powder to get the same results.
    I like the idea of having a fair amount of case neck holding the case for improved accuracy --works in the 222 as well one of its great points --long neck case.