Coatings My first attempt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coatings My first attempt

Hoping this is the right area. Being a newbie I'm sure this has been discussed before. Made my first batch of 120 coated projectiles yesterday. Rather time consuming but worth it (2 hours). Between coats you can cast more which I did. I picked one and gave it the 'hammer test' twice and it passed fine with no rupturing of the coating. Next test is the range and see how my barrel fares. If members are interested I will post images of what you need and what it cost.

Regards

Always post images!

Comment

• GD308
      GD308 commented
      Editing a comment
      Originally posted by chewtah" post=34290
      Always post images!
      Spot on.....

Thanks for the replies. I will take some images of the set-up and the cost. Trust me it doesn't cost much, Advantageous if you have access or are near an automotive sprayer. To let you research, I give a hat tip to weiderladertv on youtube. I followed his method but with my own 'receeeeep' (his terminology) i.e. recipe. Was never going to use the lub. method I would have rather have just bought the projectiles.

Regards

Comment

Image to show raw cast, then coated, then 'hammered' then finished. The two after are store bought projectile and then finished.
      Attached Files

Comment

Guest commented
        Editing a comment
        Mate they look blue on my screen, is that right? If so ,where did you get it? They look good.

Thanks sigman, yes they are blue but not the blue I'm after, This is a Mercedes blue. I'm still experimenting.Long way to go but if I get enough interest I'll post images of:

Basic equipment needed.
      Recipe (mine not weiderladertv) but not much different.
      Drying table / oven.