N330 for 38 Super

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• N330 for 38 Super

A question for the brains trust out there. I am just starting to learn, Reading Uncle Nick's bible and picking my first bits and pieces

Does anyone use N300 for 38 Super? I am starting to get everything together and haven't been able to get my hands on AP-70, but can get N330

ADI lists it as an equivalent and the Lapua load data is the same for a 125GN RN proj

Uncle Nick : 4.9 to 5.9 Gns
    Lapua : 4.9 to 5.8

Or should I just wait until I can find some AP70 or Unique ???

Random - AP70 will be hard to get until early in 2014, according to ADI. Unique is also hard to find lately. I can't speak for N300/330, but I find the next best is AP50.
    4.3 Gns of AP50 drives a 125 Gn coated lead projectile at close to 1100 fps (out of an STI Edge) for an IPSC power factor of 138-140.
    Almost exactly the same result as using 4.9 Gn of Unique, except the AP50 is less "snappy", softer on the hands.

Regards
    Paul D

Comment

Originally posted by Random" post=31341
      A question for the brains trust out there. I am just starting to learn, Reading Uncle Nick's bible and picking my first bits and pieces

Does anyone use N300 for 38 Super? I am starting to get everything together and haven't been able to get my hands on AP-70, but can get N330

ADI lists it as an equivalent and the Lapua load data is the same for a 125GN RN proj

Uncle Nick : 4.9 to 5.9 Gns
      Lapua : 4.9 to 5.8

Or should I just wait until I can find some AP70 or Unique ???
      There is plenty of AP50 on the market, and this powder is great for .38 super, but I also prefer AP70. AS already stated AP 70 in new year.
      Try AP50, using the 125 Grn conical or round nose, I and most use the conical, both great in STI using AP50 I would use 3.9grns, using a light
      9lb spring to make minor power factor, usually in STI using AP50, 3.9 grns = 130pf.