Help with Lee bottom pour pot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with Lee bottom pour pot

I have just bought a Lee bottom pour pot and have cast some 124 9mm bullets this morning. I am using 2/6/92 ingots from Northern Smelters. I have the heat setting at 5 and once my Lee 2 cavity mould has heated up after a couple of dozen bullets I am getting about 25 bullets cast and then they start frosting really badly. I tried turning thr setting on the pot down to 4 and not so successfull and tried up to 6 and they frosted even worse so seting of 5 seems the best. Has anyone got any tips? they would be greatly appreciated

I'm no expert, just a mere novice myself but maybe let your mold cool a bit when you start to notice the frosting.
    I cast 1oz slugs and usually do two dozen or thereabouts and stop for a cigarette, let it cool for 5-10 minutes and go again.
    Not suitable for mature audiences

Comment

• glock40sw
      glock40sw commented
      Editing a comment
      the lee thermostats are pure crap.
      I removed mine and built a PID controller.
      Now I can set the temp at 372Deg C and it will hold that temp until I drop in a new ingot.
      I currently have the 20lb pot with the 10 lb pot mounted above it and use the 10 lb for preheating ingots to molten and when the bottom pot starts to empty, I refill from the top pot. No need to stop casting. I run 3 6cavity molds at once. that way all molds have plenty of cooling time. 3 hours of casting gives me about 3000 bullets.

I's suggest cooling your mold on a damp towel. I used to do that when I was casting with 1 mold.