Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SMLE sight bracket.

Hey everyone,

Is anyone able to tell me which sight/s would fit this mount which has the Lithgow "MA and broad arrow"

I have a Central No.4 sight which does not seem to be compatible.

You can guess that I'm new to SMLE's / aperture sights.

Cheers T.B.

Rifle is a 1943 HV SMLE III*

Click image for larger version

Name:	_14.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	1.6 KB
ID:	53615

It doesn't appear to be either a Lane or a Rawson
    Sorry that is the extent of my knowledge
    Sent via pony express and mail plane

You know that moment when the steak is on the grill and your mouth waters in anticipation? Vegans feel the same after mowing the lawn.

Comment

• fishphillott
      fishphillott commented
      Editing a comment
      Have a look at this
      http://forums.gunboards.com/showthread.php?156663-lithgow-marked-aperture-sight-mount

Edit
      ignore the pm I sent you this link is more applicable

Hi my H rifle has a motty barrel fitted and a motty range sight which is marked D/|\D as per conversion with the military marked bracket that you have.

Comment

• fishphillott
      fishphillott commented
      Editing a comment
      Originally posted by Bathurst72" post=42058
      Hi my H rifle has a motty barrel fitted and a motty range sight which is marked D/|\D as per conversion with the military marked bracket that you have.

Since my first post I have done a bit of research
      I believe motty mues and argyle all used the same plates manufactured at the lithgow factory

You need a central No.4 mounting plate, a long trigger guard screw and the screw that fixes the Central aperature to the plate.

This is a similar mount for a BSA sight on a 1901 SMLE

If you need the correct plate and screws, I know someone who makes them as they are very scarce these days

Sight fixing to plate

Long trigger guard screw
    Hold still varmint, whilst I plugs ya!

Comment