Beginning sport as an adult

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginning sport as an adult

I've been routinely going to the gym for the good part of 3 years now, but following injuries etc, I'm looking to reduce my time spent in the gym a little bit and put that effort into getting back into team sports. I'm hoping this will give me a bit of an outlet for my competitiveness as well as fitness and social
    The only problem is, I am looking at soccer, which I haven't played for about 7 years...
    I've found a team that will be a b grade side with sign ups in January, but I'm still going to be shite haha

Has anyone else started playing a competitive sport in their 20's against blokes who've been playing since they were kids? How'd you go?

In your 20's you're still a pup Rob! Go for it mate. I'm sure you'll pick it up again.

Comment

yeah I did - I started playing basketball when I was about 24 after not having picked up a ball. I am 41 now. I joined my brother's team and he had to explain the rules to me. I literally didn't know anything.

Almost 20 years later, a couple of premierships and a regular spot in a B grade team, I am loving it. At one point I was playing twice a week and training once. It changed my life and I am so glad I took it up. I am not as skilled as some of the other guys who started when they were young, but you play to your strengths and I can hold my own.

I say go for it and forget about your insecurities - it is about having fun and keeping fit. Enjoy mate.

Comment

Originally posted by aus_Rob91" post=44035
        Has anyone else started playing a competitive sport in their 20's against blokes who've been playing since they were kids? How'd you go?
        Most old people at the range shoot better than me. That said I don't really consider sport competitive unless it is high level, more for fun unless you are pro IMO.

Comment