This tractor won't die

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This tractor won't die

I bought this IH A414 from a local farmer 20 years ago, and it had well and truly retired even then, good only for anchor duty.
    However, I managed to get her going and she has served well ever since, only for slashing a small acreage and pulling the odd stump.
    In that time the gearbox has dropped a cog, brakes totally failed, hydraulics blown a seal, radiator rusted right out, water pump bearing gone, dynamo burnt out, three tyres kaput and exhaust manifold snapped in half. I'm no mechanic, but somehow have managed to revive the old girl each time and here she is, battery being charged (no dynamo any more) ready for work.
    Just thought I'd share . . . . . :P

Yes - that is a can of "Start ya bastard" on top of the fuel tank - only 2 glow plugs work now

Oh, also forgot to mention it caught in the middle of a small bushfire once and was engulfed in flames
    If guns cause crime, then all mine are faulty - Ted Nugent

Thanks for sharing.

Comment

Greenwich-biker, will you be restoring this old tractor ???

Thanks....

Comment

• Greenwich-biker
        Greenwich-biker commented
        Editing a comment
        Originally posted by Maverick" post=46666

Greenwich-biker, will you be restoring this old tractor ???

Thanks....

Not in the true sense of the word, but I might rub down & re-paint at some stage.

I think the green machine in the shed is better.
      still,............I do like old tractors.

Comment

• Greenwich-biker
        Greenwich-biker commented
        Editing a comment
        Originally posted by Send-it" post=46683
        I think the green machine in the shed is better.
        still,............I do like old tractors.
        Ahhhh - a John Deere fan, eh? :P

not really,...........it just looks like less work. :lol:

I luv old cat or oliver dozers though.

Comment