223 or 270

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 223 or 270

Hi all im new to the game and am in need of some advice.

Im looking for a sort of "all round" hunting calibre. I will be after everything from rabbits upto deer, i know both calibres are overkill for rabbits and foxes so i guess my question relates to medium game upto deer.

I plan on getting a remington 700 of some varient.

The 223 seems to only come in a 1 in 12" twist rate which limits my bullet choice to about 60gr and under, will this be enough to humanely take a deer with good shot placement ?

Or am i better off with the 270 which i understand is a popular deer round.

I plan on using factory ammo to start but i plan on getting into reloading

Also any other advice on calibres and rifle options would be greatly appreaciated

Many thanks, Brian

min sambar cal in the mexican state of Vic is .270 and I believe 130grn (best check that your self)
    Sent via pony express and mail plane

You know that moment when the steak is on the grill and your mouth waters in anticipation? Vegans feel the same after mowing the lawn.

Comment

Both, not either. 223 is not too flash hot for deer, however 270 is fantastic. 223 is more for rabbit and foxes. The 2 are so far apart you can't really compare the 2

Comment

• El-Skippo
        Skip commented
        Editing a comment
        .223 and 270 are in two diff world's. One's for mainly small game and the other...well the .270 is a necked down 30-06 that will bring down large game.

For a all rounder the .308 would fit the bill.

Thanks for the quick replys

Looks like ill have to get one of each

As far as the 223 goes am i better off trying to find a barrel with a faster twist rate, say 1 in 9" so i can load some heavier bullets or is upto 60gr good for the small stuff and a bit of target shooting, both wont be at extreme ranges prob 500m max

Comment

Ultimately you will want 2x rifles, they are do far apart as has been said before.