who is using light weight .243 bullets?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• who is using light weight .243 bullets?

since i started shooting(mostly hunting) ive been using 80-100gn factory federal stuff in my .243 with good results accuracy wise and ethical kills in my intedned prey.
    but ive got a bit of a sick fascination with the "pink mist", and would like to try some of the lighter projectiles(factory only at this stage). somewhere in the 55-77gn range,to get more speed and rapid expansion on smaller game, this was shot with a 95gn nosler ballistic tip, but ive seen th damage the faster stuff does

once i get reloading i know my options will be much more diverse, i just wanted to know who has experience with the lighter stuff on goats, small-medium pigs, dogs, etc. and what you think are the pros/cons of lighter-faster and slower-heavier

thanks

that gun kinda looks like a grenade launcher :lol:
    over kill for rabbits no :lol:

Comment

Guest commented
      Editing a comment
      If your looking to magically make the rabbit disappear then go for the lighter pills!
      The lighter pills in 6mm have fairly thin walls and will literally explode all their energy inside and carry it through to next week.
      Is this what you're looking for? Or we're you looking to hopefully take a whole rabbit home with you at the end of the day?
      I've only gone down to 70gr Taipans myself and man these were great for foxes but way too much for buggs. I just stick with 90gr Nosler BTs now and leave the varminting to the rimfires or .223. Too much on components comparatively otherwise.

I have use Hornady Zmax 58gr on small game and even a goat kill . They work great and at $99 and now $110 per 500 great value too.
    But I also used for small to med game 87gr Vmax
    Marlin 1894 .44rem mag
    Tikka T3 Super Varmint .260rem
    Savage Axis XP Camo .260rem
    Ruger American .22wmr
    BSA SuperSport XL .22
    Adler A110 Synthetic 20" 12ga