Refubishing an old dunger....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Refubishing an old dunger....

Ok, thought I'd post up a few pics of my little project.
    Now I'm new to all things gunsmithing, so I thought I'd start small, and simple. I'm pretty handy with the tools, but given that we are talking about fire-arms here I'm a bit cautous abot fiddling with the bits that go bang. To date my handiwork has consisted only of installing scopes and such, and that hardly qualifies as "gunsmithing" On top of that, both of my rifles were purchased "new", so I want to keep them in good condition. (naturally) After a little more experience I might have a go at glass bedding, or some such, but I'm not confident enough for that just yet.
    Enter "The Dunger"

Click image for larger version

Name:	beforeweb.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	54.7 KB
ID:	36945

It's a $100 farm gun, bolt action 12 guage shotgun. and it is a piece of crap.
    The first thing I did was to strip and clean it. The amount of crud removed from the bolt was UNBELEEEEVABLE! I'm talking chunks of mud here.
    The stock was no better, all sorts of crap had worked it's way down below the action, and had become a sort of slime in the bottom of the inletting. The exterior was scuffed and dinged, but the wood was still in pretty good nick, no cracks or warping evident. So after a good scrub out came the sandpaper.

Name:	sandedweb.jpg
Size:	175.8 KB
ID:	36946

First the 40 grit to remove the old varnish, then 80, then 120, finally some 340 to really smooth it out.
    This exposed some nice grain in the timber, but it was too light to show up under several layers of varnish. Oh well, to bad so sad.