Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How long should Cerakote last?

Hi all,

I have had very little experience with Cerakote. I was wondering how long you would expect it to last on the bolt of a rifle? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Probably longer than pretty much any other finish. There's some good reading on their website regarding testing:

http://www.cerakoteguncoatings.com/testing/
    Guns don't kill people, Chuck Norris does.

Comment

Guest commented
      Editing a comment
      I have a rifle that has fired around 25 rounds and the cerakote has worn pretty badly on the bolt. Just not sure if this was normal.

One of the things I tell people when I Cerakote their rifle is that it WILL wear down on the moving parts, perhaps even wear off.

This is unavoidable unless you are willing to pay me another fistful of $$$ to trick out the inside of your action.

I make the offer that I will recoat their bolt later on if they feel they really need it done. No-one has come back to me yet.

Comment

• jasmay
      jasmay commented
      Editing a comment
      I seriously recomend you consdier the KG 2400 Gunkote. Excellent abrasio properties, or their 1600 PTFE Coating woudl be anoter to consider for bolt coating.

One advantage the KG system offers is the KPhos pretreatment, for extra corrosion resistence, and better bonding....

http://www.kgcoatings.com/protective-coatings/4000-k-phos-pretreatment/

http://www.kgcoatings.com/protective-coatings/2400-series-gun-kote/

One other thing with bolts is that they're usually pretty hard and may not get blasted properly before coating so the coating isn't keyed properly into the surface and peels off.
    Guns don't kill people, Chuck Norris does.

Comment