Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gunsmith Apprenticeship

Hi folks,

Background: As an aspiring sparky about to complete a Cert II Pre-Apprenticeship in Electrotechnology, I have begun to look at a broader range of trades from Plumbing to Carpentry and inevitably as a shooter, Gunsmithing. My family has a strong trades background, with my brother, father and uncles all carpenters and joiners, however until the end of Year 12 I was always more school oriented. Until now. I have done some research and apparently all that is required to be a gunsmith in Victoria is a piece of paper (permit/certificate) from the state government or police authorizing work on firearms, however I have limited knowledge of fitting and turning and I'm interested in learning the actual trade. As a matter of interest, do gunsmiths take apprentices? I would be happy to live and work anywhere in Victoria. I'm a keen shooter and would like a trade that encompasses my passion.

Cliffs:
    * Finished yr 12, didn't enjoy uni
    * Pre-apprenticeship to be sparky
    * considering gunsmithing as a trade also
    * know next to nothing about it
    * anyone with knowledge on this or who is qualified/skilled please chuck in your 2c

That I know of mate the is no such thing as a gunsmiths apprenticeship offered in Australia...

It is in the UK, Europe and USA (in some places its a minimum 8 years)... But not here unless it has changed in the last month or so since I talked to my smith about it...

You will have to talk to FAR/WLB in your state and ask the questions about how to become one and the rules/regs and paperwork required to become a smith...

In QLD you need a technical trade in one of the metal work trades (fitter etc) to start then the correct category licenses and then an approved workshop and armory...